The Life of a Career Misfit

My name is Yuniya, and I am, without a doubt, a career misfit.

Like many other career misfits, I have always felt compelled to make a difference in the world, to make a mark in some tangible and meaningful way through my career. And yet the means to do so has remained frustratingly elusive over the years.

For a while there I thought it was all me. I fought against the fear that my lack of success was due to a fatal flaw in me, that I would never be able to rise above my shortcomings and live a life according to my terms. I harbored a secret but pervasive fear that I would always be confined to the sidelines of life, watching other people succeed and accomplish in ways I would never, could never, experience.

But I learned a few things along the way that have challenged those fears. The most important is, I am who I am, flaws and all. In many ways, it’s those flaws, those weaknesses, that sharpen and define the shape of my life; I can fight against them, or embrace them as co-creators of life. Who I am is a sum of all the parts: the twists and turns, the victories and disappointments, right choices and wrong turns, good fits and bad fits. And who I am is GOOD.

This blog is an exploration and exposition of this and many other truths I’ve learned along the way via my own struggles with being a career misfit. I don’t profess to have all the answers, however. I still have a lot of questions and uncertainties, and I will share some of my thoughts on these as well. Ultimately, I hope to encourage, empower and enlighten those who choose to read these posts, and to speak up for career misfits all over the world.

5 thoughts on “The Life of a Career Misfit

  1. Jeronimo

    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm Interesting. They say “things happen for a reason”, and maybe this is your reason!!. But, I think we live in a world, that regardless of where we are at, we sometimes have to “wake up and smell the coffee.” Not don’t get me wrong, we all should dream, but even with dreaming, at some point we have to wake up. I am not saying I have all the answers, but I have been there, done that, and then moved on. I have learned to accept what is within my realm, and forge for what else I want in life. Life’s funny that way, but we can only control what we can, and the rest we just have to let go.

    It’s ironic, you started this blog and are at a point of self realization, angry at the world, etc, etc,…:). I am as we speak at a Dissertation intensive, and like all things in life sometimes, there are things we learn that just blow you away, and you have a totally different view of life, struggle, and way forward. You question yourself, your time, your money, your energy, and it all goes back to the old saying– if i knew then what I know now………

    Sometimes we have to step back, and take another look at life. This is a reality!!
    But sometimes, we also have to recognize — somethings are beyond us.
    We have to choose our battles, and win the fights well worth the effort.
    We cannot all be pioneers, We cannot all be presidents. But we can be the best that we can be, one step at a time, one day at a time.

    I used to be, and think I am still anti-capitalism, because I felt this was an unjust thing, an immoral way of life. I still do think it, but the reality is, every morning I have to wake up and go to work in that same society I despise whether I like it or not. I have more to sacrifice now that I did when I was younger, an activist, a radical, a rebel and or any other name society wanted to name me. While I don’t think in my heart I will ever stop being a rebel, a humanitarian, a bridge builder, and or citizen of the world, I recognize I can do more for the world alive than dead.
    I live my reality and see it in people everyday, and wish, hope, and pray, that someday ……

    Ok enough about me, bottom line is sometimes we have to : ” change the way we look at things, and things will change the way they look”.

    Great start– Forca!!!!!!

    A luta continua!!

    J

    Reply
  2. Leroy

    Maybe you have already made some significant contributions based on who you are and your personal commitment to bring your “A” game to the challenges you have confronted. Courage!

    Reply
  3. Amy

    As a fellow career misfit, I’d like to say thank you for starting this blog and sharing your experiences and wisdom! Can’t wait for more!
    -Amy

    Reply
  4. Giovana

    Love your words of wisdom! At times, I believe we all feel like misfits in life and ask ourselves why am I here? what’s the purpose of my life?But then we go back to our daily routines and forget about that urge to discover. Until we begin to hear that inner voice that will not stay silent until we listen again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

