Kitchen Sink Wisdom

You ever had a moment where you felt the energy and passion of some unknown calling surging inside you, like waves crashing against rocks? Where you felt the need to do Something Meaningful, or else explode in a fiery ball of frustration? Only problem is, you have no idea what you’re supposed to do.

I experience moments like these from time to time and I usually find them maddening. I try to pin down that elusive but tantalizing energy, to define it and make it show me what I’m meant to do. In my mind I’ll see myself living and working in a beachside villa in Brazil; or being the next Oprah; or discovering the solution to some major social problem; or winning the Mega Millions lottery and using that money to effect social change in ways that make people shake their heads and ask, “Why didn’t we think of that?”

More often than not, though, this momentary surge of energy dissipates, and so do the images. Soon all that remains is a lingering frustration and a hint of despair: Will I ever capture and harness this energy, and actually use it in a meaningful way?

The short answer? Yes. But…

The last time I had one of those energy surges, instead of throwing a temper tantrum and demanding answers and direction, I chose to listen. I powered down the revving engine of my mind, sat in stillness and silence, and simply listened. And you know what I heard?

Your kitchen is dirty. Go clean it. It’ll be good for your soul.

That’s the Something Meaningful. Because it’s the little things that matter the most. Everything you do now matters. At the end of the day, life is about the here and now, and your calling is to live in the here and now.

If you want to get There, you have to start Here first.

Leave a Reply

